Contact Us Today! 1-800-402-8765 | (619) 440-6161 | | Get Newsletter

El Cajon Citizen of The Year

//El Cajon Citizen of The Year
El Cajon Citizen of The Year 2017-12-11T21:53:27+00:00

Citizen of the Year

El Cajon Citizen of the year need not live within the city limits of El Cajon, but service must have been to the benefit of City of El Cajon and community. Nomination Deadline is

Purchase your El Cajon Citizen of the Year Luncheon Tickets today.
February 5th, 2018 from 12:00 pm – 2:30 pm
El Cajon Elks Lodge

2016: Dick Nasif

Congratulations to this Year’s Winner “Dick” Nasif for 2016, a retired police lieutenant with the El Cajon Police Department,  was named Citizen of the Year in the City of El Cajon.

Each year El Cajon’s civic, service, and fraternal organizations select the El Cajon “Citizen of the Year” from the many people in El Cajon who contribute to El Cajon through years by volunteer civic and community service. As an active community group, we look forward to your organization nominating a candidate for the “Citizen of the Year” and by sending a representative of your organization to the Selection Committee meetings. Nominations by individuals are also welcome.

Your Nomination must be submitted on the attached form and must strictly comply with the Rules for Selection. Please follow the Citizen of the Year Application Process. The deadline for submittal of the complete Nomination package for your nominee is December 15, 2017 @ 4:00 pm.(no emails will be accepted)  If you have an auxiliary organization, the nomination may be made by that organization, but only one nomination (and vote) is allowed for your combined organizations.

Please remember that a representative from your organization must attend both meetings of the Selection Committee in order for your organization to be eligible to vote at the second meeting.  The same person need not attend both meetings, but you must have a representative at each meeting in order to have a vote.

The 2017 El Cajon Citizen of the Year and all nominees will be honored at the luncheon on February 5th, 2018 from 12:00 pm – 2:30 pm at the El Cajon Elks Lodge. This luncheon is hosted by the El Cajon Valley Lions Club. Cost per person is $20, before January 29; $25 for tickets after January 29th and at the door.

Please join us in this celebration of community service by making your nomination and honoring all those who serve our City.  If you have questions, please contact the Chamber office. (619) 440-6161.

Purchase your El Cajon Citizen of the Year Luncheon Tickets today.

Past Winners

Congratulations to the El Cajon Citizen of the Year winners!

2016: Dick Nasif


2015: Humbert Cabrera.

Chuck laughing-MIP

2014: Chuck Hansen


2013: Shirley Johnson

2012: Sunshine Horton

2011: Odie Goward

2010: Steve Hamann

2009: Lauri G. Riley

2008: Kirk L. Gentry

2007: Jillian Hanson-Cox

2006: Debra Comstock

2005: James Davis

2004: Drum Macomber

2003: Allen C. Brown

2002: James Daniels

2001: Bill Fischbeck

2000: Wendell Cutting

1999: Les Hart

1998: Elizabeth Montgomery

1997: No Selection

1996: Viola Durrett

1995: Trent Huls

1994: Dorothy Maranda

1993: Ron Fields

1992:  Jerry Fazio

1991:  Ron Paris

1990:  Yvonne Beckner

1989:  Steve Eckis

1988:  Jerry Hollingsworth

1987:  B.W. “Stoney” Stone

1986:  Russ Stockwell

1985:  Jack Hanson

1984:  Bob Webb

1983:  Mary Funk

1982:  Vincent Ciruzzi

1981:   Charles Cordell

1980:  Penne L. Thacher

1979:  Hazel Sperry

1978:  Charles V. Ferree

1977:  Lucille Moore

1976:  Bob Cornett

1975:  Jim Snapp

1974:  Lynn R. McDougal

1973:  Harriet Stockwell

1972:  C. Rupert Linley

1971:  Dick Brown   

1970:  Howard Pierce and Portia Goode

1969:  Ken Brown   

1968:  Chloris Scott

1967:  Charles W. Decker

1966:  Dr. Lowell Smith

1965:  Dr. George Brown, Jr

1964:  Elmer and Peggy Wiesendanger

1963:  Bob Swearengin

1962:  Nat Eggert 

1961:  Karl Tuttle

1960:  Joseph O’Connor and Aileen Sauders

1959:  Lewis Smith

1958:  Tom Jackman

1957:  Tom Wigton

1956:  Rex Hall    

1955:  Sen. Jack Schrade